On May 28, 2013, Governor Rick Scott approved a bill that creates the “Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law.” All Florida drivers need be aware that the following Florida texting and driving law provisions that take effect October 1, 2013.
The bill prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle while manually typing or entering multiple:
- other text
in a handheld wireless communication device, or sending or reading data in the device, for the purpose of non-voice interpersonal communication.
The prohibition is enforceable as a secondary offense. A first violation is punishable as a nonmoving violation, with a fine of $30 plus court costs that vary by county. A second violation committed within 5 years after the first is a moving violation punishable by a $60 fine plus court costs.
In addition to the fines, a violation of the unlawful use of a cell phone which results in a crash will result in 6 points added to the offender’s driver license record and the unlawful use of a cell phone while committing a moving violation within a school safety zone will result in 2 points added to the offender’s driver license record in addition to the points for the moving violation.
For a free legal consultation, call 561-944-6742
If you have been injured in an automobile or motorcycle accident (especially a rear-end collision), odds are that the other driver was somehow distracted in the moments before impact. Increasingly often, that distraction turns out to be the driver’s negligent (and soon to be illegal) misuse of a smartphone or other wireless handheld communication device.
We at the Eltringham Law Group are experienced Boca Raton car accident injury attorneys who may obtain the other driver’s wireless communications device billing records when needed to establish legal liability or fault in the event of a crash resulting in death or personal injury. This helps us to get you the financial compensation you so justly deserve.
For a free consultation visit www.eltlawnew.staging.wpengine.com or call 561.338.0420