How Long Do You Have To Report A Car Accident In Florida?

If you’ve been injured as a result of a car accident and you’re unsure of the steps you need to take in order to obtain compensation for your injuries or damage to your vehicle, the experienced legal team at Eltringham Law can help.

Who Is Required to Report a Car Accident in Florida

According to Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), there are more than 340,000 motor vehicle accidents on the state’s roadways each year. Florida State Statute §316.066 states that an accident must be reported to the law enforcement agency covering the area where the accident occurred when:

  • The accident results in death, bodily injury, or physical discomfort for any occupant of any vehicle involved.
  • The accident renders at least one of the vehicles inoperable, requiring it to be towed from the scene.
  • One of the drivers is believed to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • Caused at least $500 worth of damage to either vehicle or to property at the scene.
  • The accident involved a commercial motor vehicle.

The driver of any vehicle involved in the crash must report the accident.

How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident to Police?

In Florida, those involved in accidents are expected to report them as soon as possible, and no later than 10 days after the accident occurred. If you were incapacitated by injuries from the accident, it is permissible for an occupant of the vehicle who is able to make those reports to do so for you or to wait until you are physically able to file the report. If you were the driver of the vehicle but not the vehicle’s owner, and you were unable to make the report, then the vehicle’s owner can make the report for you within 10 days of the accident.

Information that Needs to Be Reported

If the driver contacts law enforcement from the scene and remains on the scene to be interviewed by the police, they do not need to further report the accident, as the investigating officers will make the report. Otherwise, the type of information that needs to be provided in the report includes:

  • Date, time, and location of the crash.
  • A description of all vehicles involved.
  • The names and addresses of all parties involved, including all drivers and passengers and a description of which vehicle they were in when the accident occurred.
  • The names and addresses of anyone who witnessed the crash.
  • The name, badge number, and law enforcement agency of the officer(s) investigating the crash.
  • The name and policy number for insurance agencies and liability policies associated with each vehicle involved.

What Happens if You Don’t Report the Accident?

Failing to report an accident can result in a non-moving traffic violation that can result in a fine. Additionally, if you fail to report the accident, you will likely be unable to seek compensation for the expenses and impacts of any injuries you incurred, or for damage to your vehicle.

Who Else Needs to Know About Your Car Accident

While reporting the accident to the police is one of the first steps you should take, providing information about the crash doesn’t stop with the police report. There are others who need to be made aware of the accident, as well.

Your Insurance Provider

Even if you are uninjured and do not need to access your personal injury protection (PIP) policy and do not plan to make a claim against your own insurance for the damage to your vehicle, you still need to report the accident to your insurer. Most insurance policies require this, and failure to do so will most certainly result in a denial of coverage for any damage sustained, but can even result in the insurance company choosing to drop your coverage.

If you are seeking coverage from your PIP policy, you must seek treatment for your injury within two weeks of the date on which the accident occurred, with the claim being filed as reimbursement for that treatment. Generally, claims filed longer than two weeks after the accident will not be accepted.

Your Lender

If the accident involved a vehicle that you are making payments on, you will want to inform your lender of the accident as required in your contract. It is important to remember that even if you can no longer drive the car, you are still responsible for what you owe.

The At-Fault Party’s Insurance Provider

If you suffered property damage as a result of someone else’s carelessness or recklessness — such as damage to your car — you can file a third-party insurance claim to seek the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle. Generally, vehicle claims must be filed within 30 days of when the accident occurred.

If you were injured in the accident, you can also seek compensation for the expenses and impacts of your injury, if you meet the state’s serious injury threshold or you max out your PIP coverage. The criteria for meeting the serious injury threshold include injuries that are permanent or result in a permanent and significant loss of a bodily function, permanent and significant scarring or disfigurement, or death.

If you satisfy these criteria, you will be permitted to file your personal injury claim as a lawsuit and have the courts determine how much compensation is owed to you.

If You Were Injured in an Accident, a Personal Injury Lawyer Can Help

If you’ve been injured in a Florida accident, the legal team at Eltringham Law can help you understand the personal injury claims process and provide you with information about the services we can provide to assist you with your claim. It costs nothing to speak with us, and if we work with you on your case, you will owe nothing for our services until there is a positive outcome to your claim. Contact us for your free case evaluation today.

What Our Clients Say

Our Reviews

Our clients love the personalized attention we give every case. Read what they have to say:

See All Reviews

I highly recommend Eltringham Law Group to anyone seeking legal advice after having a car accident. David Eltringham and his entire staff gave me the personal attention I needed during a very difficult and painful time. David took the extra steps needed to ensure that I received the medical care I needed as well as the financial compensation I deserved. Harold Torres, Paralegal updated me every step of the way. Thank you Eltringham Law Group!

Laura Lauri

I had such a great experience with Eltringham Law Group! I was always kept in the loop and the experience was so personal. I was always in close contact with Teresa who was an absolute pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend Eltringham Law Group again and again – I couldn’t have asked for a better experience!!!

Alex Peacock

I would like to thank the Eltringham Law Group and specifically Harold Torres for handling my case. Harold did an outstanding job on my behalf. I cannot express enough how pleased I am and how professional and empathetic Harold and the rest of the staff were throughout the entire process.

Nick Jury

Recent Case Results

$1.025M

RIDE SHARING

November 2021

$1M

COMMERCIAL TRUCKING ACCIDENT

March 2022

$600K

CAR ACCIDENT WITH MINIMAL VEHICLE DAMAGE

March 2022

$125K

SLIP & FALL

March 2022

Proudly Serving The Entire State of Florida & Beyond

NO MATTER WHERE YOU LIVE, WE ARE HERE TO SERVE YOU.

We’re highly invested in your well-being – you don’t pay for our experience or services unless we get you a settlement. Contact us today to schedule a free review of your case.

Free Consultation

 

Working With Us

Lighthouse™ is a system unique to Eltringham Law Group – Personal Injury & Car Accident Attorneys, it’s what makes us different from other personal injury attorneys. We built this program to hold our own attorneys accountable and make sure our clients are getting the care and consideration they deserve.

1

Client Onboarding
Client Onboarding

The client meets with our Lighthouse Concierge Team to discuss the details of their potential case. A dedicated Lighthouse Team Member is assigned to the case to gather information and maintain constant communication with the client.

2

Investigation Case Analyzer
Investigation Case Analyzer

The assigned Lighthouse Team Member gathers and assess all information related to the case. A majority of the information is processed, paperwork is submitted and any questions/concerns the Lighthouse Team has for the client are clearly communicated and addressed.

3

Client Success Maximizer
Client Success Maximizer

The client meets with their Lighthouse Concierge Team Members to conduct a full review and explanation of the process. Both legal and medical records are reviewed and our team sets realistic and achievable expectations for the client.

4

Phase 1 Medical
Phase 1 Medical

The client is undergoing treatment at this point of the process and the Lighthouse Concierge Team maintains consistent communication to monitor the treatment scheduled. Additional medical referrals and testing may be required at this point if recommended by the current medical provider.

5

Phase 2 Medical
Phase 2 Medical

The client finalizes initial medical treatments that may include referrals to specialists, medical procedures, further testing and/or additional treatment recommendations by their medical providers.

6

Resolution or Litigation
Resolution or Litigation

The Lighthouse Concierge Team is in communication with those involved with and/or responsible for the damages incurred in your case. Two possible outcomes at this stage are 1) an achieved settlement agreement or 2) the inability to achieve a fair settlement that will result in the Eltringham Law Group filing a law suit on your behalf.

7

Post-Settlement Process
Post-Settlement Process

The case has completed and an agreement/resolution has been achieved with maximum in the best interest of the client. The Lighthouse Concierge Team meets with the client to fully explain the results and work diligently to finalize their case.